Department of Taxation and Finance
Yok Renewal Application for RP-425 R'(?o‘,%
_. Enhanced School Tax Relief
(STAR) Exemption

L4

Dear Property Owner, : ’b 33‘

You received an Enhanced STAR Exemp’non on your prior year school fax bl" You must reapply and resubmlt proof of income to
continue receiving the exemption for the 2016-2017 school year. o

The total 2014 income of all owners and any spouses of owners residirig on the premises must be $84,550 or less. The definition
of income is adjusted gross income for federal income tax purposes less any taxable distributions from an Individual Retirement

Account (IRA). Please see the back of this form for a description of how to calculate your income from your 2014 federal and state
income tax forms.

All owners, including nonresident owners, must attach a copy of either their 2014 federal or 2014 state income tax returns (if filed). (Tax

schedules and tax form attachments are not routinely required.) Return this form to your local assessor by taxable status date. Do
not file this form with the New York State Office of Real Property Tax Serwces

" For help in completing this form, see the instructions on page 2. Attach additional sheets if necessary
Name(s) of owner(s)

i
1

Maillng address of owner(s) (number and street or PO box) Location of property (street address)
City, village, or post office State ‘ZIP code City, town, or village State . ZIP code

Daytime contact number } Evening contact number School district

E-inail address Tax map number of secion/block/lot: Property identification (see tax bill or assessment roll)

1 Do you or your spouse own any other property that is currently recei\)ing the STAR exemption? ....ccccocrnncnernnne, Yes D No D

2 Doyouor your spouse own property in another state that you are claiming as your full-time residence
and are receiving a residency tax benefit, such as the Florida Homestead exemption? ...........cc.coo.veeeveonerevrrecreneonnns Yes D No D

3 If Yes, list the address of each such property:

Certification

Caution: Anyone who misrepresents his or her prlméry residence, age, or income willbe subject to a penalty of the greater of $100 or

20% of the improperly received tax savings, prohibited from receiving the STAR exemption for six years, and may also be subject to
criminal prosecution.

1 (we) certify that all of the above information is correct and that the property listed above is owned by, and is my (our) primary

residence. | (we) understand it is my (our) obligation to notify the assessor if | (we) relocate to another primary residence and to
provide any documentation of eligibifity that is requested.

All resident owners must sign and date this form.

Signature Date .Signature Date
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Instructmns

General information

The New York State School Tax Relief {STAR) Program
provides an exemption from school taxes for owner—occupned
primary residences where the combined 2014 income of the
owners and spouses who reside on the property does not
exceed $500,000. Senior citizens with combined 2014 incomes

that do not exceed $84,550 may qualify for a larger Enhanced
exemption.

Note: Senior citizens who wish to continue receiving Enhanced
STAR in future years without having to reapply and submit
copies of their tax returns to their assessor every year are
invited to sign up for the STAR income Verification Program.
See Form RP-425-1VP, School Tax Relief (STAR) Exemption,
Optional Income Verification Program, for more information.

Seniors who do not choose to enroll in the income verification
program must reapply each year to keep the Enhanced
exemption in effect. If you are receiving the Basic exemption,
you usually do not need to reapply in subsequent years, but you
must notify the assessor if your primary residence changes and
must provide income documentation when requested.

Deadline: The application must be filed with your local
assessor on or before the applicable faxable status date, which
is generally March 1; in Westchester towns it is either May 1

or June 1 - contact local assessor; in Nassau County it is
January 2, and; in cities, check with your assessor. For further
information, ask your local assessor.

Application received:

Proof of age:

Proof of income:

Proof of residency:

Assessor's hame

Apphcatlon instructions

Print the name and mailing address of each person who both

pwns and pnmanly resides in the property. (If the title to the

“property is in atrust, the trust beneficiaries are deemed to be

the owners for STAR purposes.) There is no single factor which

~determines whether the property is your primary residence, but

factors such as utility bills, voting and automobile registrations,

“and the length of time you occupy the property each year may

‘be relevant. The assessor may ask you to provide proof of
residency and ownership. For the enhanced exemption, proof of
‘age may also be required. The parcel identification number may
be obtained from either the assessment roll or your tax bill.

Income for STAR purposes: Use the following table for
identifying line references on 2014 federal and state income tax
forms You may not use your 2015 tax forms.

Form Title of income Income for STAR
o number tax form purposes
1RS U.S. Individual | Line 37 minus line 16b
[Form 1040 | Income Tax adjusted gross income minus
Return taxable amount (of total IRA
. distributions)
iRS U.S. Individual | Line 21 minus line 11b
.| Form 1040A | Income Tax adjusted gross income minus
Return taxable amount (of total IRA
distributions)
IRS Income Tax Line 4 only
Form 1040EZ R_eturn for | adjusted gross income
Single and Joint | (o adjustment needed for
Filers With No IRAS.)
. -1 Dependents
NYS Resident Line 19 minus line ©
Form IT-201 | Income Tax federal adjusted gross income
Return minus taxable amount of IRA
distributions

This Area for Assessor’s Use Only

Approved:

Senior additional:

Form RP-425-1VP received:

Assessor's signature

Date

Yes I:I No |:|
Yes D No D
Yes D No D
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YORK Instructions for Form RP-458-a 6/15)

$TATE Application for Alternative Veterans
Exemption from Real Property Taxation
General information The municipal choices of maximum exemptions generally
New York State (NYS) Real Property Tax Law available are:
section 458-a provides a limited exemption from real - —
property taxes for real property owned by persons who Wartime Combat Disability
rendered military service to the United States, provided L Zone
such property meets the requirements set forth in the law. Reduced 6.000 4.000 20.000
The task of administering this law lies primarily with local maximums 9000 6,000 30,000
assessors who are required to pass upon each application ’ ' '
for exemption. Basic
] ‘ _ _ _ . maximums 12,000 8,000 40,000

These instructions are intended to assist applicants in ,
the completion of Form RP-458-a (also available on Increased 15.000 10.000 50.000
our Web site at www.tax.ny.gov), and to discuss issues maximums 18000 12.000 60.000
concerning the Alternative Veterans' Exemption. Technical 21000 1 4’000 20,000
discussion has been avoided so that the material will have 24’000 16,000 80’000
the widest possible usefulness. Veterans should address ' ' '
their inquiries to their local office of the NYS Division of 27,000 18,000 90,000
Veterans’ Affairs or their County Veterans' Service Agency. - ggggg ig-ggg 11(1)0’000
NYS Real Property Tax Law section 458-a provides an 36,000 24,000 1 28838
alternative exemption from real property taxation for : : i

ualified residential real property owned by veterans , e L . :
gf defined periods of war? veptergns who re)éeived In hlgh.appreCIat/on munrcrpalgt/es_ (deflr)eq below) the
expeditionary medals, or certain members of their family governing board may adopt still higher limits of:
based on a percentage of assessed value. The alternative - —
exemption is applicable to general municipal and school Wartime Combat Disability
district taxes, but not to special ad valorem levies or Zone
special assessments. 39,000 26,000 130,000
Each county, city, town, and village was originally given 42,000 28,000 140,000
the option of deciding whether to grant the aiternative 45,000 ' 30,000 150,000
exemption. If the decision was made initially not to grant 48,000 32,000 160,000 -
the Alternative Veterans’ Exemption, the local legislative 51,000 34,000 170,000
body may change that decision. In addition, school 54,000 36,000 180,000

districts are now authorized to allow the exemption, by

resolution after public hearings. You should check with A high-appreciation municipality means: (1) New York

your assessor to determine whether the exemption is City, (2) a county for which the Office of Real Property
available for your property. Tax Services (ORPTS) has established a sales price

A qualified residential parcel receives an exemption equal differential factor for purposes of the school tax relief

to 15% of its assessed value. Where the veteran can (STAR) exemption (Real Property Tax Law section 425)
document service in a combat theater or combat zone, for three consecutive years, or (3) a city, town, village, or
the property receives an additional exemption equal to school district which is wholly or partly located within such
10% of its assessed value. Where a veteran has received a county. ORPTS maintains a list of such counties on its
a service-connected disability rating from the Veterans’ Web site (at: www.tax.ny.gov/pit/property/star/diff.htm).

Administration or the U.S. Department of Defense, there

is an additional exemption which is equal to one-half of

the disability rating, mulitiplied by the assessed value of

the property. Each of these is subject to maximum limits

set by the municipality. Once the municipality has chosen the maximum
exemption amounts, the maximum amounts must then

- be multiplied by the latest final state equalization rate,

special equalization rate, or, in special assessing units
(i.e., New York City and Nassau County), class ratio (if
the equalization rate or class ratio is 100 or less), for
the assessing unit in order to arrive at the applicable
maximums for each assessment roll. These rates and
ratios normally change from year to year; this will affect
the maximum exemption amounts.

You should check with your assessor to determine the
maximum exemption limits in the municipalities in which
you reside.
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Line instructions

Lines 1 and 2 — Where the property is owned by more
than one person, include names, telephone numbers,

e-mail addresses, and post office addresses of all owners.

Aftach additional sheets if more space is necessary to
answer this or any other question on this form. Note: if
a person holds a life estate in the property, that person
is the legal owner of the property. If the property is
held in trust, the trustees are the legal owners of the
property, but the exemption also may be allowed if the
beneficiary of the trust is a person in the exempt class.
The trustee-beneficiary relationship should be explained
on line 4. And any additional information should be
provided on the basis of the beneficiary’s qualification
for exemption. Attach a copy of the trust or other proof
of such trustee-beneficiary relationship. At local option,
a municipality may grant the exemption to otherwise
qualifying owners who are tenant-stockholders of
cooperative apartment corporations. The exemption

is then applied to that proportion of the assessment

as represents the tenant-stockholder’s percentage of
ownership of stock in the corporation.

Line 3 — The location of the property should conform to
its description on the latest assessment roll. Contact your

local assessor for assistance in furnishing this description.

Line 4 — A qualifying owner for the alternative exemption
includes a veteran of a defined period of war, the
recipient of an expeditionary medal, the spouse of such
veteran or the unremarried surviving spouse. If there is
no unremarried surviving spouse, the exemption may
continue, provided title to the residence becomes vested
in the dependent father or mother, or dependent child

or children under 21 years of age of the veteran and

the property is the primary residence of one or all the
devises. A veteran who is also the unremarried surviving
spouse of a veteran may also receive any exemption to
which the deceased spouse was entitled. At local option,
a municipality may offer the exemption to a parent of a
child who died in the line of duty while serving in the U.S.
Armed Forces. Such Gold Star Parents should check with
the assessor to determine whether the option is available
locally.

Lines 5 and 6 — The veteran must have served on active
duty in the U.S. Armed Forces during the Persian Gulf
conflict (commencing August 2, 1990), the Vietnam War
(February 28, 1961-May 7, 1975), Korean War (June 27,
1950-January 31,1955), or World War Il (December 7,
1941-December 31, 1946) and been honorably discharged
or released from service. A veteran also includes a recipient
of an armed forces, navy or marine corps expeditionary
medal and a member of a reserve component of the U.S.
Armed Forces who served honorably while on active duty
(other than active duty for training) and who has returned to
reserve status. A veteran also includes certain individuals
who served during World War Il in the United States
Merchant Marine, the United States Army Transport Service
(oceangoing service), the American Field Service (overseas
duty), or as civilian flight crew or ground support in Pan
American World Airways pursuant to its contract with Air or
Naval Transport Command. The dates of the Korean and
Vietnam Wars and Persian Gulf conflict are prescribed in

New York State law, while the dates of the other wars are
derived from Federal law. As proof of the dates and character
of service, a copy of DD Form 214, Report of Transfer or

- Discharge, or other appropriate evidence should be attached

to your application. A list of documents that are acceptable
as proof of veteran status is available on our Web site (at
www.tax.ny.gov/pit/property/exemption/vetexemptproof.htm).

Line 7 — If the additional alternative exemption is to be
granted based on service in a combat zone or combat
theater, evidence of the award of a United States
campaign ribbon or service medal documenting such
service must be submitted. Veterans who qualify based on
receipt of one or more expeditionary medals also qualify
for the additional combat zone or theater exemption.

Line 8 - If the additional alternative exemption is to be
granted based on service-connected disability rating,
evidence of exemption eligibility must be provided by the
property owner. Where an exemption has been granted
pursuant to NYS Real Property Tax Law section 458-a
based on the veteran’s service-connected disability,

the percentage of such disability must be re-certified

prior to taxable status date if the disability percentage
increases or decreases (see Form RP-458-a-Dis,
Renewal Application for Alternative Veterans Exemption
From Real Property Taxation Based on Change in
Service-Connected Disability Compensation Rating). If the
veteran is deceased, such rating is the last rating received
prior to the veteran's death. Where the veteran died in
service of a service-connected disability, the veteran is
deemed to have been assigned a compensation rating

of 100%. For assistance in obtaining disability rating
information, you should contact your local office of the
New York State Division of Veterans' Affairs or your
County Veterans’ Service Agency.

Note: this additional exemption is not available to Gold
Star Parents.

Line 9 — To obtain the alternative exemption, the property
must be the primary residency of the veteran, his or her
unremarried surviving spouse, or (if applicable) his or her
Gold Star Parent, unless such person is absent from the
property due to medical reasons or institutionalization.

Line 10 — To obtain the alternative exemption, the
property must be used exclusively for residential
purposes. However, if a portion of the property is used
for other than residential purposes, the exemption
applies only to that portion which is used exclusively for
residential purposes.

Line 11 - For an alternative exemption, eligibility
depends, in part, on who has the title to qualifying
residential real property. Attach a copy of the deed to your
application.

Line 12 = NYS Real Property Tax Law section 458
provides an exemption from real property taxation owned
by veterans or other members of the eligible class which
is purchased with the proceeds of a veteran's pension,
bonus or insurance (or dividends or refunds on such
insurance) or compensation paid to prisoners of war.
These moneys are called eligible funds and are paid by
the United States or New York State in recognition of



the veteran’s military service. This section provides an
exemption from general municipal taxes, but not school
taxes, special ad valorem levies or special assessments.
Property is exempt to the extent that eligible funds are
used in the purchase, generally not to exceed $7,500.

In some municipalities, however, property may be
eligible for an exemption in excess of the $7,500
limitation. If your property is receiving an eligible funds
exemption in a municipality which has changed from
fractional assessment to full value assessment, and if
that municipality timely adopted a local law preserving
the value of eligible funds exemption on a pro rata

basis, and that local law remains in effect, your eligible
funds exemption will increase or decrease as a result

of the change to full value assessment. Similarly, if your
municipality has opted to apply the change in level of
assessment factor to eligible funds exemptions, the
amount of exemption will increase or decrease when
such change occurs. For more information concerning the
eligible funds exemption and Form RP-458, contact your
aSSessor.

"~ Where a municipality grants the Alternative Veterans'
Exemption, no new eligible funds exemption may

be granted thereafter. In a municipality granting the
alternative exemption, a veteran receiving an eligible
funds exemption on his/her primary residence can retain
that exemption, or may apply for the alternative exemption
by submitting a new application to the assessor.

If the veteran earlier converted from eligible funds to the
alternative exemption, and moves to a county, city, town
or village not granting the alternative exemptions, he/she
can again receive the eligible funds exemption. Similarly,
if a municipality which grants the alternative exemption
adopts a local law to allow veterans, who previously
received the eligible funds exemption but who switched
to the alternative exemption, to switch back to the eligible
funds exemption and receive the change in level of
assessment, veterans have one year from the date of
the local law to apply to switch back (get Form RP-458
from your assessor or the Tax Department’s Web site at
www. tax.ny.gov/forms/ompts/exemption.htm).

Filing the application

Application for exemption must be made to the local
assessors,

Where property is located in a viliage which assesses,
separate applications must be filed with both the village
and town assessors. The application must be filed on
or before taxable status date. Taxable status date for
most towns is March 1. In Nassau County, the taxable
status date for towns is January 2. Westchester County
towns have either a May 1, or June 1 taxable status
date; contact the assessor. Taxable status date for most
villages which assess is January 1, however, the village
clerk should be consulted to insure certainty. Charter
provisions control in cities so inquiry should be made

of city assessors for the taxable status dates in cities.

In New York City, taxable status date is January 5,

but applications for this exemption may be filed on

or before March 15. At local option, where property
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receiving exemption pursuant to NYS Real Property
Tax Law section 458-a is sold and the owner purchases
replacement property within the same city, town, or
village, the former exemption may be transferred to the
new property and be granted on a pro rata basis for the
balance of the fiscal year. To continue the exemption
thereafter, a new application must be file on or before
taxable status date.

Do not file the application with ORPTS.
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Application for Cold War Veterans

Exemption from Real Property Taxation

General information

New York State (NYS) Real Property Tax Law

section 458-b authorizes a limited exemption from real
property taxes for real property owned by persons

who rendered military service to the United States
during the Cold War (defined as September 2, 1945,

to December 26, 1991), provided such property meets
the requirements set forth in the law. The task of
administering this law lies primarily with local assessors
who are required to pass upon each application for
exemption.

These instructions are intended to assist applicants

in the completion of Form RP-458-b (also available at
www.tax.ny.gov), and to discuss issues concerning the
Cold War Veterans’ Exemption. Technical discussion
has been avoided so that the material will have the
widest possible usefulness. Assessors may address their
questions to their Office of Real Property Tax Services
(ORPTS) regional office CRM. Veterans should address
their inquiries to their local office of the New York State
Division of Veterans’ Affairs or their County Veterans’
Service Agency.

NYS Real Property Tax Law section 458-b authorizes

an exemption from real property taxation for qualified
residential real property owned by Cold War veterans or
certain members of their family based on a percentage of
assessed value. The exemption is applicable to general
municipal taxes, but not school taxes, special ad valorem
levies, or special assessments.

Each county, city, town, and village has the option

of deciding whether to grant the Cold War Veterans’
Exemption. You should check with your assessor to
determine whether the exemption is available for your
property.

A qualified residential parcel may receive an exemption
equal to 10%, or at local option 15%, of its assessed-
value. This exemption is limited to 10 years duration.
Where a veteran has received a service-connected
disability rating from the Veterans’ Administration or
the U.S. Department of Defense, there is an additional
exemption which is equal to one-half of the disability
rating, multiplied by the assessed value of the property.

Each of these is subject to maximum limits set by
the municipality. The municipal choices of maximum
exemptions available are:

10% 15% Disability
option option
Reduced 4,000 ~ 6,000 20,000
maximums 6,000 - 9,000 30,000
Basic
maximums 8,000 12,000 40,000
Increased
maximums 10,000 15,000 50,000
12,000 18,000 60,000
14,000 21,000 70,000
16,000 24,000 80,000
18,000 27,000 90,000
20,000 30,000 100,000
22,000 33,000 110,000
24,000 36,000 120,000

In high appreciation municipalities (defined below) the
governing board may adopt still higher limits of:

10% 15% Disability
option option
Increased 26,000 39,000 130,000
maximums 28,000 42,000 140,000
30,000 45,000 150,000
32,000 48,000 160,000
34,000 51,000 170,000
36,000 54,000 180,000

A high-appreciation municipality means: (1) New York
City, (2) a county for which ORPTS has established a
sales price differential factor for purposes of the school
tax relief (STAR) exemption (Real Property Tax Law
section 425) for three consecutive years, or (3) a city,
town, or village located within such a county. ORPTS
maintains a list of such counties on its Web site at:
www.tax.ny.gov/pit/property/star/diff.htm

You should check with your assessor to determine the
maximum exemption limits in the municipalities in which
you reside.

Once the municipality has chosen the maximum

_exemption amounts, the maximum amounts must then be

multiplied by the latest final state equalization rate, or, in
special assessing units (i.e., New York City and Nassau
County) class ratio (if the equahzat!on rate or class ratio
is 100 or less), for the assessing unit in order to arrive

at the applicable maximums for each assessment roll.
These rates and ratios normally change from year to year,
affecting the maximum exemption amounts.
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Line instructions

Lines 1 and 2 — Where the property is owned by more
than one person, include names, telephone numbers,
and post office addresses of all owners. Attach additional
sheets if more space is necessary to answer this or any
other question on this form. Note: if a person holds a life
estate in the property, that person is the legal owner of the
property. If the property is held in trust, the trustees are
the legal owners of the property but the exemption also
may be allowed if the beneficiary of the trust is a person
in the exempt class. The trustee-beneficiary relationship
should be explained on Form RP-458-b, line 4, and any
“additional information should be provided on the basis
of the beneficiary’s quailification for exemption. Attach a
copy of the trust or other proof of such trustee-beneficiary
relationship. At local option, a municipality may grant
the exemption to otherwise qualifying owners who

" are tenant-stockholders of cooperative apartment
corporations. The exemption is then applied to that
proportion of the assessment as represents the
tenant-stockholder’s percentage of ownership of stock in
the corporation. .

Line 3 - The location of the property should conform to
its description on the latest assessment roll. Contact your
_ local assessor for assistance in furnishing this description.

Line 4 — A qualifying owner for the exemption includes a
veteran of the Cold War, the spouse of such veteran, or
the unremarried surviving spouse. A veteran who is also
the unremarried surviving spouse of a veteran may also
receive any exemption to which the deceased spouse was
entitled.

Lines 5 and 6 — The veteran must have served

on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces between
 September 2, 1945, and December 26, 1891, and

been honorably discharged or released from service.

As proof of the dates and character of service, a copy

of DD Form 214, Report of Transfer or Discharge, or

other appropriate evidence should be aftached to your

application. A list of documents that are acceptable as

proof of veteran status is available on our Web site (at

www.tax.ny.gov/pit/property/exemption/vetexemptproof.htm).

Submission of a state-issued Cold War Certificate alone is

insufficient evidence of eligibility for this exemption.

Line 7 — If the additional Cold War exemption is to be
granted based on service-connected disability rating,
evidence of exemption eligibility must be provided by the
property owner. Where an exemption has been granted
pursuant to NYS Real Property Tax Law section 458-b
based on the veteran’s service-connected disability,

the percentage of such disability must be re-certified
prior to taxable status date if the disability increases or
decreases (see Form RP-458-b-Dis, Renewal Application
for Cold War Veterans Exemption from Real Property
Taxation Based on Change in Service-Connected
Disability Compensation Rating). If the veteran is
deceased, such rating is the last rating received prior to

~ the veteran’s death. Where the veteran died in service
of a service-connected disability, the veteran is deemed
to have been assigned a compensation rating of 100%.
For assistance in obtaining disability rating information

you should contact your local office of the New York State
Division of Veterans’ Affairs or your County Veterans’
Service Agency.

Line 8 — To obtain the Cold War Veterans' Exemption,

the property must be the primary residency of the veteran
or his or her unremarried surviving spouse, unless

such person is absent from the property due to medical
reasons or institutionalization.

Line 9 — To obtain the Cold War Veterans’ Exemption,
the property must be used exclusively for residential
purposes. However, if a portion of the property is used
for other than residential purposes, the exemption
applies only to that portion which is used exclusively for
residential purposes. '

Line 10 — For a Cold War Veterans' Exemption, eligibility
depends, in part, on who has the title to qualifying
residential real property. Attach a copy of the deed to your
application.

Line 11 - The defined Cold War period includes periods
of war and other military engagements. If a Cold War
veteran receives an Eligible Funds Veterans’ Exemption
(per Real Property Tax Law section 458), or an Alternative
Veterans’ Exemption (per Real Property Tax Law, ‘
section 458-a), the Cold War veteran may not also receive
the Cold War Veterans’ Exemption. For more information
concerning the eligible funds exemption or alternative
exemption, contact your assessor.

Line 12 —~ The term of the basic exemption is limited to
10 years, therefore, you must state if you have previously
received such exemption, and, if so, where and when.

Filing the application

Application for exemption must be made to the local
assessors.

Where property is located in a village which assesses,
separate applications must be filed with both the village
and town assessors. The application must be filed on
or before taxable status date. Taxable status date for
most towns is March 1. In Nassau County, the taxable
status date for towns is January 2. Westchester County
towns have either a May 1, or June 1 taxable status
date; contact the assessor. Taxable status date for most
villages which assess is January 1; however, the village
clerk should be consulted to insure certainty. Charter
provisions control in cities so inquiry should be made

of city assessors for the taxable status dates in cities.

in New York City, taxable status date is January 5, but
applications for this exemption may be filed on or before
March 15.

Do not file the application with ORPTS.



